Have any question? +234 (0) 8023130665; 09053818848

2024 Rahamon Bello Award

Rahamon Bello Best Ph.D. Thesis Award 2024

Call for applications

The Institute of African and Diaspora Studies (IADS), University of Lagos hereby announces the 2024 call for applications for the Rahamon Bello Best Ph.D. Thesis Award in African and Diaspora Studies. This prestigious award seeks to encourage and appreciate young intellectuals whose Ph.D. theses address African and diaspora issues and the reconfiguration of African Studies. The award promotes trailblazing intellectual and multidisciplinary research works in African Studies. The honouree of the award, Professor Rahamon Bello, is a former Vice Chancellor of the University of Lagos, Nigeria.
The winner of the award will receive the sum of $1,000 (One thousand US Dollars), the first runner-up will receive $300 (Three hundred US Dollars), while the second runner-up will receive $200 (Two hundred US Dollars).


  • An applicant must have completed a doctorate in any university/research institute domiciled in Africa between the 1st of June, 2022 and the 31st of June, 2024;
  • An applicant’s field of study must be within the Arts, Humanities, Social Sciences, Law, Management Sciences, and Education.

Documents to be submitted

  • A cover letter/letter of interest stating the motivation for applying for the award;
  • An extended abstract of the Ph.D. thesis (written in English) of not more than 1,500 words, including background of the study, statement of the problem, aim and objectives, scope of the study, significance of the study, theoretical framework, methodology, findings, and contributions to knowledge;
  • A soft copy of the Ph.D. thesis;
  • An updated curriculum vitae (CV), including academic status, employment history, and publication records;
  • A soft copy of Ph.D. certificate.


Note: All documents must be written in English.

How to apply
All applications must be submitted via email to  with the subject heading “Rahamon Bello Best Ph.D. Thesis Award 2024.” All submissions will be acknowledged through email.
Important dates
  • 1st July, 2024: Application opens.
  • 30th September, 2024, 11.59 WAT (mid-night): Application closes.
  • 1st October to 21st November, 2024: Review/assessment of applications by an independent selection committee.
  • 28th November, 2024: Announcement of the award winner. (Virtual)
  • 5th December, 2024: Award presentation and ceremony (physical)
For further enquiries, contact