Have any question? +234 (0) 8023130665; 09053818848

2023 Rahmon Bello Award

Rahamon Bello Best Ph.D. Thesis Award 2023

Call for applications

The Institute of African and Diaspora Studies (IADS), University of Lagos hereby announces the 2023 call for applications for the Rahamon Bello Best Ph.D. Thesis Award in African and Diaspora Studies. This prestigious award seeks to encourage and appreciate young intellectuals whose Ph.D. theses address African and diaspora issues and the reconfiguration of African Studies. The award promotes trailblazing intellectual and multidisciplinary research works in African Studies. The honouree of the award, Professor Rahamon Bello, is a former Vice Chancellor of the University of Lagos, Nigeria.
The winner of the award will receive the sum of $1,000 (One thousand US Dollars).
  • An applicant must have completed the doctorate degree in any University / research institute domiciled in Africa between 1st of June, 2021 and 31st of June, 2023;
  • An applicant’s field of study must be within any of Arts, Humanities, Social Sciences, Law, Management Sciences, and Education.
Documents to be submitted
  • A cover letter / letter of interest stating the motivation to apply for the award;
  • An extended abstract of Ph.D. thesis (written in English) of not more than 1,500 words, including background of the study, statement of the problem, aim and objectives, scope of the study, significance of the study, theoretical framework, methodology, findings, and contributions to knowledge;
  • A Soft copy of the Ph.D. thesis;
  • An Updated Curriculum Vitae (CV), including academic status, employment history and publication records; and
  • A Soft copy of Ph.D. certificate.
  • All documents should be written in the English Language.
How to apply
All applications must be submitted via email to  with the subject heading “Rahamon Bello Best Ph.D. Thesis Award 2023.” All submissions will be acknowledged through email.
Important dates
  • 1st June, 2023: Application opens.
  • 30th September, 2023, 11.59 WAT (mid-night): Application closes.
  • 1st October to 31st November, 2023: Review and/or assessment of applications by independent selection committee.
  • 30th November, 2023: Announcement of the award winner.
  • 6th December, 2023: Award presentation and ceremony (to be done virtually and physically)
For further enquiries, contact